Legal                                                                                                                                                                                        © Maurice Claypole 2012

Maurice Claypole

Professional associations

For many years, I have been actively involved in a number of professional associations. Here is some brief information about some of them - in alphabetical order.

ELTAS| English Language Teachers Association Stuttgart

A registered professional association for teachers based in the Baden-Württemberg area of Germany. I was chair of ELTAS for several years and still maintain close contacts.

IATEFL | Internatonal Association of Teachers of o Foreign Language

My involvement with IATEFL goes back many years and has taken many forms including member of the Management Committee and of the Publications Committee.

BESIG | Business English Special Interest Group

As a frequent contributor to BESIG’s professional periodical, Business Issues and speaker at BESIG conferences, I have actively supported this association for many years.

LTSIG | Learning Technologies Special Interest Group

As a committee member from 2010 to 2012, I was also editor of the group’s journal, CALL Review.

TESOL | Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages

This US-based association is the biggest of its kind in the world. I am a member of the association itself and many of its interest sections.

CIOL | The Chartered Institute of Linguists

The Chartered Institute of Linguists is one of the most active associations for professional linguists worldwide. I am proud to have been a member since 1980.

ITI | Institute of Translation & Interpreting

The UK’s premier association of professional translators. Originally part of the Institute of Linguists, it became independent shortly after I joined in 1980s and has grown ever since.

CCT | Chartered College of Teaching

Not a college, but the UK’s main association of teachers and educators, formerly known as the College of Teachers. I joined in 1989 and became a Fellow Member in 2009.